Vacancies on the MUNFA Academic Freedom and Grievance Committee

As of September 30, 2017 there will be three (3) vacancies on the Academic Freedom and Grievance (AF&G) Committee. The Executive will make appointments to fill these vacancies. These appointments will take effect on October 1, 2017.

The AF&G Committee has four functions:

  1. To assist and advise members of the MUNFA bargaining unit in the protection of their rights under the Collective Agreement and to advise non-bargaining unit MUNFA members of their rights under the Terms and Conditions of Employment.
  2. To prepare individual grievance cases for the resolution mechanisms, and to represent grievers before administrative and arbitral committees.
  3. On reference from the MUNFA Executive Committee, to prepare association grievance cases for representation before administrative and arbitral committees.
  4. To monitor the state of academic freedom within the University, to promote awareness of academic freedom issues and to make policy recommendations to the Executive.

Under its terms of reference the AF&G Committee shall consist of eight persons from the St. John’s campus, appointed by the Executive to staggered, three-year terms, except for one Executive representative who is appointed for one year.  Given the increased case load for the AF&G Committee, the Executive approved that the AF&G Committee be allowed to operate as a committee of nine members. There is a separate but linked committee at Grenfell Campus. Current members of the St. John’s Campus Committee and the expiration dates of their terms are as follows:

Stephen Butt (Chair) Engineering October 1, 2019
Richard Rivkin (Co-Chair) Ocean Sciences October 1, 2018
(Executive Representative)
Natalie Beausoleil Community Health October 1, 2019
Stephan Curtis History October 1, 2019
Danial Duda Q.E. II Library October 1, 2019
Malcolm Grant Psychology (Retired) October 1, 2019
Kurt Korneski History October 1, 2019
Erwin Warkentin Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures October 1, 2019

All committee members will, when possible, be full-time Faculty Members, Academic Staff Members in Co-op and Field Education, or Professional Librarians tenured or permanent in their appointment, or be Retired Members of MUNFA who have previously held such a position in the University.

Members on the St. John’s campus who are interested in serving on this committee should download and sign the above form and return it to the MUNFA Office, Room ER-4047 (Alexander Murray Building). Any member may suggest another person for this committee. Please return this form by September 22, 2017.