Vacancy on the MUNFA Academic Freedom & Grievance Committee – St. John’s Campus

As of May 1, 2012 there will be one (1) vacancy on the Academic Freedom and Grievance (AF&G) Committee. The Executive will make an appointment to fill this vacancy. This appointment will take effect immediately.

The AF&G Committee has four functions:

  1. (1)  To assist and advise members of the MUNFA bargaining unit in the protection of their rights under the Collective Agreement and to advise non-bargaining unit MUNFA members of their rights under the Terms and Conditions of Employment.
  2. (2)  To prepare individual grievance cases for the resolution mechanisms, and to represent grievers before administrative and arbitral committees.
  3. (3)  On reference from the MUNFA Executive Committee, to prepare association grievance cases for representation before administrative and arbitral committees.
  4. (4)  To monitor the state of academic freedom within the University, to promote awareness of academic freedom issues and to make policy recommendations to the Executive.

Under its terms of reference the AF&G Committee shall consist of eight persons from the St. John’s campus, appointed by the Executive to staggered, three-year terms, except for one Executive representative who is appointed for one year. There is a separate but linked committee at Grenfell Campus. Current members of the St. John’s Campus Committee and the expiration dates of their terms are as follows:




Dorothy Milne (Chair)

Q.E. II Library (Retired)

October 1, 2013

Jon Church


October 1, 2013

Malcolm Grant (Executive Representative)


October 1, 2012

George Jenner

Earth Sciences

October 1, 2014

Basil Kavanagh

Human Kinetics

October 1, 2012

Richard Rivkin


October 1, 2012

Dianne Taylor-Harding

Q.E. II Library

October 1, 2013


Tenured MUNFA members on the St. John’s campus who are interested in serving on this committee should notify Jill Diamond-Strong at the MUNFA Office, Room ER-4047 (Alexander Murray Building). Any member may suggest another person for this committee. Please return this form by May 18, 2012.