1st Call for Nominations for the 2019-2020 Executive Committee

This is the 1stcall for nominations for the 2019-2020 Executive Committee and the Nominating and Balloting Committee. The Nominating and Balloting Committee is soliciting nominations.

(1) For the Executive Committee, the following positions are to be filled (Attachment A):

  • Vice-President External/President Elect (1 year term)*
  • Secretary (2 year term)
  • Member-at-Large Grenfell Campus (2 year term)
  • Four Members-at-Large (three 1 year terms and one 2 year term)

The terms of office for various Executive positions have been staggered in order to ensure continuity on the Executive Committee. A Term-Appointed Member-at-Large will be elected in the Fall semester for a 1 year term.

*Following their 1 year term as Vice-President External, the person will then move into the position of President and in the subsequent year, move to the role of Past President.

(2) For the Nominating and Balloting Committee, four members are to be elected (Attachment B).

The Executive and the Nominating & Balloting Committees are hopeful that nominations will be received from all departments, schools and faculties. According to the MUNFA Constitution, any MUNFA member is eligible for any of these positions.

Official nominating forms are attached. Each nomination must be accompanied by (1) the signature of the nominee (indicating his or her willingness to serve), and (2) the signatures of a proposer and seconder. All three must be members of MUNFA. The nomination period ends at noon on March 1, 2019. Each candidate has the option of submitting to the Committee a statement of not more than150 words which shall be circulated to the membership. Such statements must be received by the MUNFA office by noon on March 4, 2019.

In accordance with the MUNFA Constitution and the Terms of Reference of the Nominating and Balloting Committee, an election for members of the MUNFA Executive will be organized after the close of nominations.  The Nominating & Balloting Committee will also be elected at this time. Under amendments passed at the October 1992 General Meeting, voting will be by mail ballot.


    Erin Alcock, Q.E. II Library (ex-officio) 864-7427 ekalcock@mun.ca
    Michael Kirkpatrick, History 864-6109 michael.kirkpatrick@mun.ca
    Scott Matthews, Political Science (ex-officio) 864-3093 scott.matthews@mun.ca
    Sherrie Myers, ASM-CE, Engineering 864-3900 sherriem@mun.ca
    Yolande Pottie-Sherman, Geography 864-8984 ypottiesherm@mun.ca
    Kristen Rome, HS Library 864-6064 kromme@mun.ca

Please forward all nominations to the MUNFA Nominating & Balloting Committee, c/o MUNFA Office, Room ER4047, Alexander Murray Building, by noon on MARCH 1, 2019.