1st Call for Nominations for the Member-at-Large (Term Appointed ASM) Position on the Executive Committee and for One Vacancy on the Nominating & Balloting Committee

This is the 1stcall for nominations for the 2019-2020 Term-appointed Member-at-Large positionon the Executive Committee and for one (1) vacancy on the Nominating and Balloting Committee. The Nominating and Balloting Committee is soliciting nominations for both of these positions, as follows:

  • For the Executive Committee, the following position is to be filled (Attachment A):
  • One (1) Term-appointed ASM Member-at-Large (October 1, 2019 – August 31, 2020)

According to the Terms of Reference for the MUNFA Nominating & Balloting Committee, an Executive Member-at-Large (Term-appointed Academic Staff Members (ASM)) will be elected in the Fall semester, for the 2019-2020 Academic Year. This position is restricted to ASMs as defined in Article 23 of the MUN/MUNFA Collective Agreement. To be eligible for this position, an ASM must hold a twelve (12) month term appointment, which will ensure the ASM is a member of the bargaining unit for the duration of the appointment to the MUNFA Executive Committee. The Executive and the Nominating & Balloting Committees are hopeful that nominations will be received from Term-appointed ASMs from all departments, schools and faculties.

  • For the Nominating and Balloting Committee, there remains one (1) vacancyon this Committee (Attachment B).

One (1) Member (October 1, 2019 – August 31, 2020)

Official nominating forms are attached. Each nomination must be accompanied by (1) the signature of the nominee (indicating their willingness to serve), and (2) the signatures of a proposer and seconder. All three must be members of MUNFA. The nomination period ends at noon on September 26, 2019. Each candidate has the option of submitting to the Committee a statement of not more than150 words that shall be circulated to the membership. Such statements must be received by the MUNFA office by noon on September 27, 2019.

In accordance with the MUNFA Constitution and the Terms of Reference of the Nominating and Balloting Committee, an election for a term-appointed ASM member of the MUNFA Executive will be organized after the close of nominations.  The Nominating & Balloting Committee member will also be elected at this time.  Under amendments passed at the October 1992 General Meeting, voting will be by mail ballot.

Erin Alcock, Q.E. II Library (ex-officio) 864-7427 ekalcock@mun.ca
Michael Kirkpatrick, History 864-6109 michael.kirkpatrick@mun.ca
Sarah Martin, Political Science 864-8181 sarahjmartin@mun.ca
Scott Matthews, Political Science (ex-officio) 864-3093 scott.matthews@mun.ca
Sherrie Myers, ASM-CE, Engineering 864-3900 sherriem@mun.ca

Please forward all nominations to the MUNFA Nominating & Balloting Committee, c/o MUNFA Office, Room ER4047, Alexander Murray Building, by noon on SEPTEMBER 26, 2019.