Vacancies on the MUNFA Academic Freedom and Grievance Committee

MUNFA is seeking expressions of interest for volunteers to serve on the MUNFA Academic Freedom and Grievance Committee. Appointments, as approved by the Executive Committee, are for a three (3) year term and will take effect on October 1, 2020. We especially encourage members of equity-seeking groups to volunteer.

The AF&G Committee has four functions:

  • To assist and advise members of the MUNFA bargaining unit in the protection of their rights under the Collective Agreement and to advise non-bargaining unit MUNFA members of their rights under the Terms and Conditions of
  • To prepare individual grievance cases for the resolution mechanisms, and to represent grievers before administrative and arbitral
  • On reference from the MUNFA Executive Committee, to prepare association grievance cases for representation before administrative and arbitral
  • To monitor the state of academic freedom within the University, to promote awareness of academic freedom issues and to make policy recommendations to the

Under its terms of reference the AF&G Committee shall consist of eight or more persons from the St. John’s campus, appointed by the Executive to staggered, three-year terms, except for one Executive representative who isappointed for one year. There is a separate but linked committee at Grenfell Campus. Current members of the St. John’s Campus Committee and the expiration dates of their terms are as follows:

Jon Church (Executive Representative) Medicine October 1, 2020
Dan Duda Library October 1, 2022
Malcolm Grant Psychology (Retired) October 1, 2022
Erika Merschrod Chemistry October 1, 2021
Nicole Power Sociology October 1, 2021
Walter Okshevsky Education October 1, 2022
Beth Whelan Counselling Centre October 1, 2022

Tenured MUNFA members on the St. John’s campus who are interested in serving on this committee should sign and return this form to the MUNFA Office, Room ER-4047 (Alexander Murray Building). Any member may suggest another person for this committee. Please return this form by September 25, 2020