MUNFA and the university administration have finally begun negotiations for a new Collective Agreement. Although originally scheduled to begin in September, 2005, the parties exchanged proposals on 5 of the 6 Articles to be opened – Articles 11, 12, 23, 26, and 30 – on Tuesday, 11 April 2006.

Of particular interest to Faculty Members, is the administration’s opening proposal for important changes to promotion and tenure as outlined in Articles 11 and 12. Most significantly, their proposals would require those being reviewed for tenure or for promotion to Associate Professor, to obtain letters of assessment from university peers outside MUN. Thus, the process would be the same as for those now seeking promotion to Full Professor. MUNFA rejected this initial position arguing there is no need to “fix” an established process that is not “broken.” We also suggested that it was unfortunate that the administration could envision making career progress so much more onerous and burdensome on Faculty Members without offering some reciprocal benefits.

Subsequently, the administration has verbally offered automatic promotion to Associate Professor for all Assistant Professors who successfully obtain tenure. This would be in the 6th year of appointment and would require external letters of assessment. No longer will a candidate have the option of requesting a review for tenure in the 5th year. MUNFA is considering this and other aspects of the offer.

The parties also exchanged proposals on Article 23, more specifically, language governing term and spousal appointments. While offering partial agreement to a MUNFA proposal that would provide returning term appointees a degree of seniority rights, the administration continues to demand a maximum 4 course per semester teaching load, to offer no change in per course remuneration, and to refuse our demands that more tenure-track ASMs – rather than contingent academic staff – teach in our classes.

We will keep you advised of future developments.

MUNFA Negotiating Committee:

  • Jon Church (Medicine)Chief Negotiator
  • George Jenner (Earth Sciences)
  • Dorothy Milne (Q.E. II Library)
  • Richard Rivkin (Ocean Sciences Centre)
  • Lili Wang (Pharmacy)
  • Paul Wilson (SWGC)
  • Marian Atkinson (MUNFA Executive Officer, non-voting member)